Tags

,

If you’re squeemish about “Feminine Issues,” I suggest you skip this post :).

Before Jon & I got married, I worked casual shifts in a group home for mentally and physically disabled persons. Because we were engaged and I was moving, I did not work there long. But the time I spent there impacted me deeply and moved my heart forever.

There was one young woman whom I will call “Collette.” I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with her. She was sweet and gentle. She had long, brown, curling hair. And she had a beautiful smile.

She was also my age. And I could carry her in my arms.

Our lives were so very different.

One thing we had in common though, one thing I’d never given much thought to, but I learned from Collette and other girls our age…..

Menstruation happens. Regardless.

When Kezia was born, and as the possibilities stretched before us, I thought of Collette, and some of the other women in the group home, and thought, “Oh Lord, I know what’s on the horizon…. how on earth…. oh how are we going to manage….” I whispered and I cried. And cried.

The “Facts Of Life” are not an easy transition time for any teen/pre-teen. And it starts earlier and faster than it used to. And it’s tough stuff!

Now imagine trying to process that all when your body is 8 or 9 or 10, but mentally you are 3 or 4 or 5. Hard gets harder.

One day, I was innocently reading articles online when I came across this article….

When Your Special Needs Daughter Gets Her Period.

If you have a daughter with special needs, R.E.A.D. I.T. If you are working with girls who have special needs. READ. IT. If you want to be a positive, encouraging support for a friend who has a daughter with special needs. You get the point.

I sat at the computer and sobbed. It candidly and beautiful covers some very difficult topics. If you have the time, read through the comments. Some issues it addresses are using birth control to help regulate cycles, the much higher rate of sexual assault against people with special needs and how that affects their body, the risk of pregnancy, etc. Some big gunners right there.

It has been my experience that the Lord has provided as we’ve moved through each stage. I am sure, when we cross this threshold, that there will be grace for the journey as well.

But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt. Isn’t hard.

The irony of it pierces my heart every time. The reason a girl menstruates is to prepare and equip her body for carrying children. For those who will not {likely} carry their own children, experiencing menstruation feels like a grand injustice…. salt in the wound, if you will. It takes my breath away, just a little.

Collette and her companions taught me so many things in my brief time with them. They were kind and gracious teachers. As these things come our way it is best to tackle one step at a time, together.

Version 2

