Tags

, ,

tran·si·tion
tranˈziSH(ə)n,tranˈsiSH(ə)n/Submit
noun
1.
the process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another.
“students in transition from one program to another”
synonyms: change, passage, move, transformation, conversion, metamorphosis, alteration, handover, changeover; More
verb
verb: transition; 3rd person present: transitions; past tense: transitioned; past participle: transitioned; gerund or present participle: transitioning
1.
undergo or cause to undergo a process or period of transition.
Thank you, Google Dictionary :).
bf2dd882-2416-4b4b-978c-db4bb4ee87e8
This is fall.
And it wasn’t until this morning that I felt like our segue back into The Routine was settling. In fact, as I took that first sip of coffee when the house was quiet after the hum of the morning had passed, I just breathed it all in.
No rushing. No problem-solving. No emails or check-ins. No phone calls.
Just breathing a prayer of gratitude, “thank you Jesus.”
Every year, there are changes. This year our changes included having our youngest, who has really relied on her middle sister for connection at school, had to get used to being on her own. She came home those first few days, and said, “I still miss you, mommy, but I’m having fun too.” Ahhhh, motherhood. I hope that they will always miss me just enough to come and connect, but feel confident and independent enough to embrace the adventures that await them.
Kezia started a new school. New staff, new routine, new friends. New files. New. Everything new. Every part of me likes what is familiar and comfortable, and this was a challenge for both of us! But with the new, comes new opportunities, new responsibilities, new confidences. New relationships and connections. Yes, there are challenges, and those of us who have children with disabilities recognize that the need for clear communication never ends.
Our oldest entered “junior high” — don’t we all remember those turbulent tween years :)????  Oh my. It is challenging to navigate the press for independence with the need to stay so very connected.
But, admittedly, one thing I’ve grown to love about this season (aside from the plethora of school supplies; I do LOVE me a good notebook, personal planner and special pen :)!!!) is that there is room to hear my heart again. The hum and heyday of summer has passed, and in it’s quiet wake there are cool-weather walks, my thrift-store favourite sweater, a badly needed catch-up visit with a friend. There is a bit more space to be … me … again.
IMG_1896.jpg